ARSL Conference Scholarships


Scholarship applications for the 2013 conference, to be held in Omaha, NE on September 26-28, are being taken now, until June 15, 2013 at 5:00 Central Time. Apply Now >>

The Association for Rural and Small Libraries currently offers three annual conference scholarships to promote the organization and the conference. They are the Dr. Bernard Vavrek Scholarship, the Founders Scholarship and the Ken Davenport Scholarship.

The Dr. Bernard Vavrek Scholarship will go to a current LIS student. It includes conference registration, hotel, $500 stipend and a free one-year membership in ARSL.

The Founders Scholarship and the Ken Davenport scholarship will go to a current library professional. They include conference registration, hotel, a $500 stipend and a free one-year membership in ARSL. The definition of a “Library Professional” is a library staff member working in a small and/or rural library. A degree or certification is not required.

Candidates do not need to be members of ARSL; however membership is encouraged.

The committee asks candidates for any scholarship to provide a briefly worded essay -”Why I Want To Go!” and a completed application form.

The winners should have not attended the ARSL conference before and will be required to write a short blog entry on the ARSL website to share their conference experience. Winners will also be invited to serve on the ARSL Scholarship Committee the following year.

The Conference Scholarship Committee selects winners based on a demonstration of need, demonstration of not only a desire to serve the small and rural community but an already established pattern of working within the community, willingness to network, share and aid in developing new networks to aid small and/or rural libraries and a willingness to share what they learn at the conference with those in their networking areas.

A special thank you to our ARSL Premier Members who have helped make these scholarships possible through a $10 contribution as part of their membership.

See also information on 2012 State Library Agency provided scholarships

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *